Nestled behind Sanford Stadium on the UGA campus lies Oconee Hill Cemetery, 100 acres of one of the more scenic landscapes in North Georgia. Oconee Hill Cemetery was purchased in 1855 by the city of Athens when further burials were prohibited in the old town cemetery on land owned by the University of Georgia. In 1856, the city formed a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees to hold and manage in trust the original purchase of 17 acres on the west side of the North Oconee River as a public cemetery for the benefit of the town. The newest section of the cemetery is Bulldog Haven, now open exclusively to UGA football lettermen, their spouses and families.
For a recent history and walking tour from the Athens Clarke Heritage Foundation, click here.