Special Alert

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Emanuel Ax, piano

  • November 24, 2019
  • 3:00 PM
  • Location: Hugh Hodgson Concert Hall
  • 230 River Rd. 
  • Athens, GA
  • Phone: (706) 542-4400
  • Time: Starting: 3:00 PM

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Robert Spano, conductor
Emanuel Ax, piano

Experience “one of the great classical artists of his generation at the peak of his ability” (broadstreetreview.com) when Emanuel Ax tackles the broad vistas of Brahms’s Piano Concerto No. 1. A piece that combines pianistic élan with the meatiness of a symphony, the “Brahms First” remains one of the most gratifying and most popular Romantic concertos. Robert Spano presents the Brahms alongside the world premiere of a new symphony by Atlanta-based Emory University composer and professor, Richard Prior.

Pre-performance talk in Ramsey Concert Hall at 6:45 pm (free admission).


Photo: Lisa Marie Mazzucco

View Map
Hugh Hodgson Concert Hall
230 River Rd.