Special Alert

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra

  • January 28, 2018
  • 3:00 PM
  • Location: UGA Performing Arts Center
  • 230 River Rd. 
  • Athens, GA
  • Phone: (706) 542-4400
  • Price: $66-$76
  • Time: Starting: 3:00 PM

Robert Spano leads the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra in two powerful works by Beethoven and Bernstein. Known for its forceful melodies and heroic spirit, Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto is the most frequently performed of the composer’s five piano concertos. The Los Angeles Times called piano soloist Jorge Osorio “one of the more elegant and accomplished pianists on the planet.” Leonard Bernstein composed his first major symphonic work, the Symphony No. 1, Jeremiah, in 1942. The symphony follows the Biblical story of the prophet Jeremiah with texts from the Book of Lamentations sung by Metropolitan Opera mezzo-soprano Jennifer Johnson Cano.

UGA Performing Arts Center
230 River Rd.